November Ballot Update: 13 Candidates Running for Mayor, Council and Clerk

By Robert Haugh

It’s official — almost. The final deadline passed for candidates to declare for Santa Clara elections.

49ers Vice President Rahul “Jericho” Chandhok went nuts again, issuing a statement on team letterhead saying that he considers all the candidates stupid and not capable of managing a stadium, a NFL football team, or even him. Just kidding. (We hope).

Here’s the candidate update:


Lisa M. Gillmor
Anthony Becker

District 2

Nancy A. Biagini
Mario Bouza
Raj Chahal

District 3

Karen Hardy
Srinivasan Sambathkumar (a.k.a. “Sam Kumar”) — he pulled papers on Monday. We’re waiting to see if he officially qualifies. If not, Hardy wins.

City Clerk

Hosam Haggag
Roseann Alderete LaCoursiere
Thomas MacDevitt
Robert J. O’Keefe
Peta Roberts
Christopher Stampolis

Note: On Monday, we incorrectly reported some stuff. MacDevitt has run for office before — unsuccessfully for city council in 2002 and 2004. We also accidentally left off the list LaCoursiere. She also ran for unsuccessfully for city council. That was in 2014.


    • Raj Chahal is running for Council district 2. I’m sure he wouldn’t want himself identified in ethnic terms, but, he is Asian.

Leave a Reply