Early 2016 Election Results

By Robert Haugh

Quick breakdowns (unofficial as of 9 a.m. on Nov. 9 – only three of 49 precincts remain uncounted in Santa Clara- so these results are very strong indicators of the final outcomes) of local election races in Santa Clara, ballot measures and other local races of interest in Santa Clara. Of interest, most incumbents are on-track for victories, and with Patty Mahan’s impending victory, the Council will have a super-majority of women for the first time in the history of Santa Clara – note, all of the women candidates scored big numbers – in a presidential election year where Santa Clara County heavily favored Democratic Presidential candidate Hillary Clinton dominated the vote.

Santa Clara Police Chief
Incumbent Mike Sellers over Pat Nikolai by five percent

Santa Clara City Clerk
Incumbent Rod Diridon, Jr.(67 percent) in a landslide over Deborah Bress

Santa Clara City Council Seat No. 4
Former Mayor and Council member Patricia Mahan (34 percent) by five percent overĀ  Tino Silva, Raj Chahal and Markus A. Bracamonte in the tightest Council race for the Seat held by Jerry Marsalli who chose not to run for re-election.

Santa Clara City Council Seat No. 3
Incumbent Debi Davis over John McLemore in a landslide – 65 percent to 35 percent

Santa Clara City Council Seat No. 6
Appointed incumbent Kathy Watanabe (nearly 50 percent of vote) over Mohammed Nadeem (20 percent), Suds Jain (15 percent), Anthony J. Becker (8.5 percent) and Mario Bouza (8 percent)

Santa Clara City Council Seat 7
Incumbent Teresa O’Neill in a landslide (59 percent) over Kevin Park and Ahmad Rafah

All four Santa Clara City ballot measures Measure O (Council member and Mayor salaries), Measure P (Council and Mayor Term Limits), Measure Q (Filling Vacancies in Elected Office) and Measure R (Protection of Parks and Open Space) have extremely wide margins of YES votes – all four are slated for approval with 75 to 90 percent Yes votes for the Charter amendments.

Santa Clara Unified School District Trustee Area 2
Incumbent Albert Gonzalez (50 percent) over Mark Richardson and Ashish Mangla

Santa Clara Unified School District Trustee Area 3
Incumbent Michele Ryan (52 percent) clings to a narrow edge over Anna E. Welsh

West Valley-Mission Community College District – Trustee Area 2
Incumbent Bob Owens (60 percent) over Chris Stampolis

State Assembly – District 25
Kansen Chu (72 percent) in a landslide over Bob Brunton

US Representative District 17
Republican Ro Khanna (60 percent) over Democrat incumbent Mike Honda

Once results are official, we will share a full tally of vote percentage and numbers and an analysis of the results and what they mean for the City moving forward.

Leave a Reply